Teams Named for Queen’s Birthday Clash

Teams Named for Queen’s Birthday Clash

Teams Named for Queen’s Birthday Clash 1365 2048 HKRFU

Teams named for Queen’s Birthday clash


Horowhenua Kapiti and Wellington Lions have both named their sides for their clash on Monday 4th June at the Levin Domain. The game kicks off at 2:30pm.


The Horowhenua Kapiti team features a number of changes from the side who beat Wairarapa Bush at Westpac Stadium on May 5th. Coach Chris Wilton is looking to build combinations heading into the Heartland Championship and the game will also give players an opportunity to impress. “There have been a few challenges due to a number of injuries for us in this game, however there is a number of players that will want to put their hand up for the up and coming campaign which is an exciting prospect.”

Entry to the game will be by way of a gold coin donation with all proceeds going to Tyrone Rerekura.  On April 28th following a game between Waikanae and Toa, Tyrone collapsed and has since been diagnosed with a brain tumour which he is receiving ongoing treatment for.


Horowhenua Kapiti Heartland:

  1. Sebastian Jackson, 2. Dave McErlean, 3. Scott Cameron, 4. Ryan Shelford (captain), 5. William Lander, 6. Joel Winterburn, 7. Mannasah Wineera, 8. Hone Taiapa, 9. Leon Ellison, 10. James So’oialo, 11. Lei Katoa, 12. Luke McMahon, 13. Kalim Kelemete, 14. Connor Paki, 15. Levi Kemp.

Reserves: 16. Bronson Talavai, 17. Josh Greer, 18. TBC, 19. Amaron Edwards, 20. Sam Gibson, 21. Trent Reti, 22. Tanira Cooper, 23. Himiona Henare, 24. Dylan Taylor

Wellington Lions XV:

  1. Sitiveni Paongo, 2. Joe Walding-Karaitiana, 3. Ben Aumua-Paseta, 4. Will Mangos, 5. Alex Dalzell, 6. Teariki Ben-Nicholas, 7. Greg Foe, 8. Tupou Sopoaga, 9. Kemara Hauiti-Parapara, 10. Pakai Turia, 11. Ollie Sapsford, 12. Isaia Petelo, 13. Pepesana Patafilo, 14. Nash Fiso-Vaelei, 15. Andrew Wells

Reserves: 16. Ezekiel Sopoaga, 17. Mike Ioapo, 18. James Coburn, 19. Taisson Lealaisalanoa, 20. Mat Peni, 21. James Tuia, 22. Ken Kapeli, 23. Dale Sabbagh, 24. Denny To’o, 25. Andy Ellis