Grassroots Rugby Heroes – Competition Winner

Grassroots Rugby Heroes – Competition Winner

Grassroots Rugby Heroes – Competition Winner 150 150 HKRFU

Good afternoon everyone,

We’ve had so many nominations for the Grassroots Rugby Heroes competition, and every single one of them well deserved! All our nominees contribute to rugby in Horowhenua Kapiti and without volunteers, rugby wouldn’t happen!

As so many of the nominees deserve to win, we couldn’t decide so we decided to put all the nominees into a hat to draw out.

The hard-working volunteers who were nominated are:

Adrienne Carpenter

Carwyn Millard

Dean Thomas

Debbie Thomas

Gerald De Castro

Keith Milligan

Kerianna Stirling

Kevin Clements

Kirstie Holtham

Lance Tukerangi

Lindsay Walker

Lisa Porter

Megan Qaranivalu

Michael Stokes

Mike Attwood

Nigel Christensen

Peter Matakatea

Phil Benefield

Thomas Hudson

Tony Bailey

Wayne Bal


Thanks to everyone who nominated one of the above volunteers, your contribution to rugby hasn’t gone unnoticed and quite clearly you are a valued member of our rugby community!


However, there can only be one winner of the Grassroots Rugby Heroes competition, and the winner is WAYNE BAL!


Wayne ‘Roly’ Bal (Shannon RFC) was nominated for the long hours and service he gives to Shannon RFC on a weekly basis. Wayne is always running the waters, assistant manager for the Shannon Premiers, committee member, club captain and always the first to set up the grounds on gameday and always has everything ready for the players to get started at training and on gameday. Wayne never misses a training and has been described as a Shannon stalwart and a great club man! Well-deserved Wayne!