Paraparaumu and Toa crowned Club Rugby Champions

Paraparaumu and Toa crowned Club Rugby Champions

150 150 HKRFU Website

Paraparaumu have won the 2014 HKRFU Club Rugby Premier grade after a thrilling final, where they pipped Shannon 12-9. Played in fine weather conditions, not many spectators would have turned up to the Levin Domain on Saturday expecting no tries in the final. Both Shannon and Paraparaumu like to run with the ball and play an expansive style of rugby, however it was the defence of Paraparaumu that ultimately had the final say. In the final minutes of the match, Shannon threw everything at Paraparaumu deep inside Paraparaumu’s half. Four penalties off the boot of Sonny McBride proved to be enough as Paraparaumu held on for a 12-9 victory.

At Levin Domain: Paraparaumu 12 (S. McBride 4 pens) v Shannon 9 (A. Porima 3 pens). HT: 6-6.

In the Senior Reserve final, Toa squeezed out Foxton in a game of fast free-flowing rugby that only produced one try in the full game. It was hard to believe that this try, scored by Corom Hippolite, would be the only try in 160 minutes of rugby. A penalty goal from Foxton was not enough to reel in Toa, with Toa ending up victorious, 5-3.

At Levin Domain: Toa 5 (C. Hippolite try) v Foxton 3. HT: 5-3.