All rugby postponed or cancelled this weekend; Top 4 cancelled (as at Tuesday 24 August, 2021)

All rugby in New Zealand this weekend cancelled or postponed. (as at Wednesday 18 August, 2021)

NZR will continue to work closely with Government and provide updates as soon as possible as anything changes. We continue to ask everyone involved in rugby to support one another and follow the official health guidelines.

Provincial Unions, clubs, schools and rugby providers are encouraged to make decisions that are best for your communities and prioritise health and safety.

For more information on COVID-19  and official Government guidelines please visit

2020 _NZR_RTR_Requirement

NZR Contact Tracing Guidelines for Rugby Clubs

Level 2 Return to Changing Rooms Guide

Return to Clubroom Guide

Level 2 Return to Training Guide


Return to Rugby

New Zealand Rugby has developed Return to Rugby Requirements which apply to all levels of Rugby in New Zealand below Investec Super Rugby Aotearoa.

The New Zealand Rugby Return to Rugby Requirements below are consistent with Sport NZ’s return to sport guidelines.

Currently New Zealand is at COVID-19 Alert Level 2 and all community and club rugby will begin to follow the three stages of preparation outlined below.

Phase 1: Prepare to Train – Phase ended 25 May

No organised rugby training or match activity will occur during this phase.

Rugby clubs work with their Provincial Unions to develop Health and Safety plans in four key areas: Training, Changing Rooms, Clubrooms and Match Days.

Below you will find helpful guides to develop these plans and implement Contact Tracing.

Phase 2: Prepare to Play from 25 May to 19 June

Teams can resume pre-season training if Clubs have had health and safety plans approved by their local Provincial Union.

25 May to 29 May (12pm) training must follow the Government guidelines of no more than 10 people in a bubble.

29 May (12pm) the government will allow gatherings of 100.

13 June pre-season matches may be played.

Phase 3: Play from 20 June

20 June competition fixtures can begin.